Lemon Cupcakes

lemon cupcakeLemon cupcakes are generally a winner, though I once made some that got accused of tasting like washing up liquid. And they did. But this recipe I found uses lemon curd and it made ALL the difference.

The recipe says to dollop 1 teaspoon of lemon curd in the batter in each cupcake case, but I think next time I’ll do more because it really was the highlight of the cake. I also had the bright idea of putting food colouring in. I think I was seeing yellow and had lemons in my eyes. It really isn’t necessary to make a lemon cake yellow. What was I thinking? Turns out the yellow dye was orange. I think they actually looked rather nice!

lemon cupcake insideA bit like a radioactive carrot cake.

Here’s how I did it:

Ingredients

  • 100g butter, softened
  • 100g sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 100g self-raising flour
  • 1 lemon, zest only
  • 75g ready-made lemon curd

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas 4.
  • Cream the butter and sugar together in a large mixing bowl until pale, fluffy and well combined.
  • Crack in the eggs, one at a time, and beat into the mixture.
  • Fold in the flour and lemon zest until well combined.
  • This is the time to add food colouring, if using.
  • Spoon the mixture into 12 cupcake cases. Add a teaspoonful (or several) of lemon curd to the top of each cupcake.
  • Bake the cupcakes in the oven for 15-20 minutes, or until they are pale golden-brown and spring back when pressed lightly in the centre.
  • Decorate. You have to decorate! I used yellow sprinkles. Like I said, I was obsessed with yellow that day.
  • Scoff. With tea. Naturally.

Sasa

Leave a Reply

